You are here: Home > News > Latest updates & news > Bluntish to chair OBA
Read time:


hero image

Incoming OBA chairman Ian Bluntish


By Rhiannon Riches


South Australian optometrist Ian Bluntish has been appointed the new chairman of the Optometry Board of Australia. Mr Bluntish previously served on the OBA as the practitioner member from South Australia.

He will succeed the current chairman Colin Waldron, who will step down on 30 August after completing his three-year term.

Joining Mr Bluntish on the newly appointed board are optometrists Jane Duffy, Dr Ann Webber, Derek Fails, Garry Fitzpatrick, Associate Professor Daryl Guest, and three community representatives.

Their appointments will commence when the term of all current OBA members expires on 30 August.

The Australian Health Workforce Ministerial Council announced on 6 July the new appointments and reappointments of chairpersons, practitioner members and community members across 12 National Boards under the National Registration and Accreditation Scheme.

Health Ministers have thanked Mr Waldron, who was appointed inaugural chairman of the OBA in 2009, for his leadership, dedication and contribution to the national scheme.

In welcoming Mr Bluntish to the chair, the Health Ministers said his succession to the leadership role reflected the depth and breadth of his skills and experience, including those gained serving on the OBA as an inaugural practitioner member since 2009.

Mr Bluntish is chairman of ProVision.




Ian Bluntish: appointed as chairman, reappointed as a practitioner member, SA

Jane Duffy OAM: reappointed as a practitioner member, VIC

Dr Ann Webber: appointed as a practitioner member, QLD

Derek Fails: reappointed as a practitioner member, NSW

Garry Fitzpatrick: reappointed as a practitioner member, WA

Associate Professor Daryl Guest: appointed as a practitioner member, TAS

Adrienne Farago: reappointed as a community member

Anthony Evans: appointed as a community member

Associate Professor Rosemary Knight: appointed as a community member

* Terms commence for a period of three years from 31 August 2015




Colin Waldron: chairman and practitioner member, QLD

Ian Bluntish: practitioner member, SA

John Davis: practitioner member, NSW

Jane Duffy: practitioner member, VIC

Derek Fails: practitioner member, TAS

Garry Fitzpatrick: practitioner member, WA

Adrienne Farago: community member

Peta Frampton: community member

Lawson Lobb: community member

* Terms expire 30 August 2015

Filed in category: Uncategorised

Acknowledgement of Country

In the spirit of reconciliation Optometry Australia acknowledges the Traditional Custodians of country throughout Australia and their connections to land, sea and community. We pay our respects to their Elders past and present and extend that respect to all Aboriginal and Torres Strait Islander peoples today.