You are here: Home > About us > Our organisation > Optometry Victoria South Australia > Our committees

Our management committees greatly assist in ensuring our services are led by optometrists, for optometrists. Committee members bring a range of expertise and skills to the role and provide leadership and operational insights to advance specific projects and activities, and to support the work of the secretariat.

CommitteePurposeCommittee members
Early Career Optometrists Victoria South Australia CommitteeEarly Career Optometrists Victoria South Australia (ECOVSA) enables early career optometrists to grow professionally, through the provision
of continuing professional development and networking opportunities specifically targeted to the needs of early career optometrists.

Early career optometrists are defined as students and registered optometrists who are up to ten years from graduation.

In Victoria and South Australia early career optometrists face unique challenges in establishing their careers within the profession. With three optometry schools across the two states, there will continue to be an increase in graduate numbers creating greater job competition within the states.

There are also specific learning and development requirements that may not necessarily be met through existing
CPD offerings as well as a risk of professional isolation due to the dispersed nature of the workforce.

Our committee members bring a range of skills and expertise to their roles, and endeavour to guide you through these
varied challenges and opportunities.
Pooja Bhindi
Linda Bui
John De Francesco
Rowena Fuller
Hayley Gobell
Grace Hand
Chelsea Lane
Jo Rohrlach
Alek Sims
Mina You
State Advisory Committee Victoria South AustraliaThe State Advisory Committee Victoria South Australia (SACV/SA) provides advice and insights on emerging issues in optometry, including:

  • clinical and technical issues

  • guidance on policy issues, and

  • input into the development and updating of member resources and information.

  • SACV/SA provides information and advice to the OV/SA Secretariat regarding the above-named matters at an operational level. It will provide Victorian and South Australian-based members with an opportunity to have input into the work of their association. Committee members are encouraged to advocate for membership renewals and OV/SA’s policy agenda more broadly.

    Membership of SACV/SA should reflect the diversity of the optometry sector and include representatives from independent optometry, public health optometry, corporate optometry, rural and regional locations, metropolitan locations, early, mid and late career optometrists and optometrists from culturally and linguistically diverse (CALD) backgrounds or those working in areas with a large proportion of CALD populations.

    SACV/SA meets twice a year with regular email communication between meetings. In recognition of regional, rural and remote members, meeting attendance may occur in person or via video conference. Meeting secretariat support is provided by OV/SA.
Jason Booth and Mitchell Anjou (Co-Chairs)
James Armitage
Loucia Calder
Sarah Case
Jessica Chi
Jelle de Bock
Mark De Paola
Phillip Fent
Lauren Field
Hui-Ming Goh
Kerryn Hart
Lisa Ho
Stuart Holden
Graham Lakkis
Paige Lynch
Alice McLennan
Senthil Murugappa
Viki Nikas
Ken Thomas
Optometry Victoria South Australia CPD CommitteeThe Optometry Victoria South Australia CPD committee’s role is to provide ideas and advice about the OV/SA CPD program, including O=MEGA and Blue Sky, to ensure Optometry Victoria South Australia continues to provide a high quality clinical education program which appeals to a broad range of delegates. Timothy Lo (Chair)
Andrew Anderson
Anthea Cochrane
Isaac Curkpatrick
Jose Estevez
Suit May Ho
Kristina Iacovangelo
Mitch Walker

You might be interested in

Eyes on the future: A forward step for optometry

In a positive step towards fostering networks and embracing innovation and progress in the world of digital healthcare, Optometry Australia has joined the Australasian Institute of Digital Health and Australian Alliance for Artificial Intelligence in Healthcare.
Eyes on the future: A forward step for optometry View

Meet the new OV/SA Board

In December 2023, the Optometry Victoria South Australia (OV/SA) Board announced new office bearers for the forthcoming year.
Meet the new OV/SA Board View

Acknowledgement of Country

In the spirit of reconciliation Optometry Australia acknowledges the Traditional Custodians of country throughout Australia and their connections to land, sea and community. We pay our respects to their Elders past and present and extend that respect to all Aboriginal and Torres Strait Islander peoples today.