You are here: Home > About us > Our organisation > Optometry WA > Our people

Board of Directors

We are managed by a Board of Directors elected from our membership. Where additional expertise is required to support strategy and governance the board seeks out and nominates up to two specific individuals to join the board.

The board is structured in such a way as to ensure that all sectors of the profession are suitably represented from early to mid-career, transitioning to retirement, large group corporate optometry to private practitioners, and locums. The Board of Directors meet monthly and our AGM takes place around October each year.

The 2021 OWA AGM took place on Wednesday 20th October and Roxanne Medhora stepped down from the board as President and is replaced by Stephanie Bahler. John Palassis has also stepped down from the board after many years of service. ECO Secretary Ella Goh joins the OWA Board as a Director. The full OWA Board Members line up is shown below. Any questions regarding future involvement with the OWA Board, please email


Andrew Nguyen

Show details

Tel: Email:

OWA Treasurer

Director (Education subcommittee)

Hui-Lin Chan

Show details

Director (Rural and Remote/Indigenous subcommittee)

Gary Crerie

Show details

Our Staff

Optometry Western Australia staff are responsible for the smooth and efficient administration of the organisation to ensure delivery of strategic plans and goals for the benefit of our members. Our team, although small, provides members and the organisation with a broad base of skills so that we can deliver the highest level of customer support.
Want to contact the office? Email or call 08 9321 2300.

Acknowledgement of Country

In the spirit of reconciliation Optometry Australia acknowledges the Traditional Custodians of country throughout Australia and their connections to land, sea and community. We pay our respects to their Elders past and present and extend that respect to all Aboriginal and Torres Strait Islander peoples today.