You are here: Home > News > Latest updates & news > Succession planning underway as OBA members retire
Read time:


hero image

Colin Waldron

By Rhiannon Riches


Three Optometry Board of Australia members will not stand for renomination when their terms expire in August 2015.

Colin Waldron, chairman of the OBA and practitioner member from Queensland, will stand down. Community members Peta Frampton and Lawson Lobb will also vacate the OBA in August.

Nominations, including a new chair, are being considered.

The application and appointment process is confidential. Health Ministers make appointments to National Boards, under the terms of the National Law.

According to a statement from a spokeswoman for the OBA: ‘The term of all members expires in August. Given that Ministers make appointments to National Boards, it is not appropriate for the Board to comment further on the appointment process.’

Optometry Australia cannot disclose the new nominees but some state divisions of the organisation have disclosed which nominee their respective board has supported.

The Optometry South Australia board has supported current OBA member Ian Bluntish, who has renominated.

The Optometry Western Australia board has supported current OBA member Garry Fitzpatrick’s renomination.

The Optometry New South Wales board has supported current OBA member John Davis’s renomination.


Current OBA members


Colin Waldron: Chair and practitioner member, Queensland

Ian Bluntish: practitioner member, South Australia

John Davis: practitioner member, New South Wales

Jane Duffy: practitioner member, Victoria

Derek Fails: practitioner member, Tasmania

Garry Fitzpatrick: practitioner member, Western Australia

Adrienne Farago: community member

Peta Frampton: community member

Lawson Lobb: community member

*Terms expire August 2015


Lawson Lobb’s 13 years supporting our cause

Filed in category: Uncategorised

Acknowledgement of Country

In the spirit of reconciliation Optometry Australia acknowledges the Traditional Custodians of country throughout Australia and their connections to land, sea and community. We pay our respects to their Elders past and present and extend that respect to all Aboriginal and Torres Strait Islander peoples today.