You are here: Home > News > Latest updates & news > Tim Duffy receives Lederer Award
Read time:


hero image

Tim Duffy


By Sandra Shaw
National Communications Manager


Timothy Duffy, the winner of the Josef Lederer Award for Excellence in Optometry in 2017, has demonstrated to local GPs and ophthalmologists the value of high-quality therapeutic optometric practice.

Christine Craigie, the president of Optometry NSW/ACT, the organisation that makes the award, presented the award to Mr Duffy at Super Sunday on 12 March.

Mr Duffy began solo practice in Gunnedah, NSW in 1985 and for 20 years was the only optometrist servicing a large and diverse district.

‘As the only immediately-available optometrist in the area, he provided outstanding and high-quality services under very demanding and sometimes stressful circumstances. Frequently, he would be called out after-hours and at weekends to service complex and difficult patients,’ Ms Craigie said.

‘Early in his career he developed excellent skills in diagnosis, management, treatment and referral of eye disease, and acquired the most advanced diagnostic and imaging equipment.

‘He was an early adopter of the ocular therapeutics courses at UNSW and has since provided the best possible learning environment for those students who attend his practice on rural placements. Importantly, he has demonstrated by example the genuine value of high-quality therapeutic optometric practice to local GPs and ophthalmologists.

‘He is also a leader within his local community and is a regular supporter of many local charities including the Arts Council, paediatric services and the Westpac Rescue Helicopter.’

The award is named after the late Emeritus Professor Josef Lederer, who took optometry from a technical skill to a fully-fledged profession. Winners of the award include the late Professor Brien Holden, Professor Brian Layland and Anthony Chapman-Davies.

Filed in category: Uncategorised

Acknowledgement of Country

In the spirit of reconciliation Optometry Australia acknowledges the Traditional Custodians of country throughout Australia and their connections to land, sea and community. We pay our respects to their Elders past and present and extend that respect to all Aboriginal and Torres Strait Islander peoples today.