You are here: Home > News > Latest updates & news > ECOs & students > Inaugural Student Leadership Program participants announced
Read time:


hero image

A group of Australia’s best and brightest optometry students have been selected to participate in the inaugural Optometry Australia Student Leadership program.

The 12 successful candidates were announced by CEO of Optometry Australia Lyn Brodie today.

“We were very impressed by the calibre of students who applied, and are delighted those selected have been able to accept their place,” Lyn said.

“The program is designed to foster leadership skills in our emerging optometrists to help the sector navigate the anticipated opportunities and challenges.

“It is part of our Optometry 2040 project which is about transforming and strengthening our sector over the next 20 years.

“Strong leadership will help us to deliver the initiatives identified in Optometry 2040 and ensure that optometrists are adapting to, equipped and supported to meet technological, economic, demographic and social changes.”

The inaugural program will be held in Melbourne on 21 and 22 January 2019.

Participants will also be introduced to current and emerging leaders in optometry, including members of the Optometry Australia Board and staff, and representatives from Optometry Australia’s early career optometrist groups.

Successful candidates:

  • Ilham Aden – The University of Melbourne
  • Jingyi Chen – Deakin University
  • Thomas Ford – Flinders university
  • Amy Johnson – Queensland University of Technology
  • Hafi Khan – Deakin University
  • Ivy Kol – University of New South Wales
  • James Lee – Queensland University of Technology
  • Jennifer Lim – Flinders University
  • Judy Nam – University of New South Wales
  • Ashviney Vigneswaran – The University of Melbourne
  • Mina You – The University of Melbourne
  • Elaine (Sicong) Zheng – University of New South Wales


Filed in category: ECOs & students
Tagged as: ,

Acknowledgement of Country

In the spirit of reconciliation Optometry Australia acknowledges the Traditional Custodians of country throughout Australia and their connections to land, sea and community. We pay our respects to their Elders past and present and extend that respect to all Aboriginal and Torres Strait Islander peoples today.