You are here: Home > News > Latest updates & news > CPD, conferences & events > OQNT celebrates at Visionaries Awards Night 2019
Read time:


By Emma Molen

Optometry Queensland Northern Territory Events and Marketing co-ordinator

On Saturday, 26 October 2019 OQNT held the annual Visionaries Awards Night at Stamford Plaza, Brisbane. Recognising QUT graduates, award recipients and reunion members, it was a great evening featuring live music, entertainment and stunning views of Brisbane River.

40 year reunionists, Adrian Hill and Russell Cooper, with Marissa Megaloconomos (OQNT Board Vice-President)

As part of this event, OQNT recognised reunionists from years 2014, 2009, 1999. 1989 and 1979, presenting them with a commemorative medallion for their achievement. In addition,  QUT graduating students were acknowledged for their commitment to their studies and welcomed into the profession of optometry.

QUT Graduating students with OQNT Board Vice-President, Marissa Megaloconomos.

Each year Optometry Queensland & Northern Territory takes a moment to award members and non-optometrists for their service to the profession. The award recipients for 2019 announced on the evening were:

  • The Hon Bill Hayden AC Queensland Optometrist of the Year Award – David Bradley
    Recognition for a member of the division who has worked tirelessly to increase the standing of the profession and enhance the achievements of optometry to serve the community.
  • Queensland & Northern Territory Young Optometrist of the Year – Emily Henry
    Presented to an optometrist who has graduated within the last 10 years, and who has displayed outstanding contributions to the profession.
  • Hamlyn R Brier Clinical Optometry Award – David Stephensen
    Presented to recognise excellence in clinical optometric practice.
  • Peter J Montgomery Award for Social Justice – Dr Shelley Hopkins
    Presented to an optometrist who has made a significant contribution to social justice issues for patients.

OQNT Board Vice President, Marrisa Megaloconomos with the 2019 Award Recipients (Left to right: David Bradley, David Stephensen, Emily Henry, Dr Shelley Hopkins). 

The evening was an overall celebration for the optometry profession at present, and for what the future holds.

On behalf of Optometry Queensland Northern Territory, congratulations to all our award recipients, reunionists and QUT graduating students!

Filed in category: CPD, conferences & events
Tagged as: ,

Acknowledgement of Country

In the spirit of reconciliation Optometry Australia acknowledges the Traditional Custodians of country throughout Australia and their connections to land, sea and community. We pay our respects to their Elders past and present and extend that respect to all Aboriginal and Torres Strait Islander peoples today.