You are here: Home > News > Latest updates & news > Nominations invited for 2018 Collin Medal
Read time:


hero image

By Sandra Shaw
National Communications Manager


Optometry Australia is calling for nominations for the 2018 H Barry Collin Research Medal.

The medal recognises outstanding contributions to the advancement of knowledge in optics, vision science or clinical optometry by a person who is an Australian citizen or a graduate of an Australian optometry school, or who has done a significant part of his or her research in an Australian institution.

The honour is accompanied by a monetary prize of $5,000 and the recipient is required to submit a paper for publication in Clinical and Experimental Optometry.

Nominations can be made by a single person or group and must include details of the name, position, qualifications and contact details of both the nominators and nominee. A statement of no more than 1,500 words on the nature, scope and importance of the research by the nominee is also required. A full publication list and other supporting documentation can be included but are not required.

The award recipient will be announced in August 2018.

Professor Mark Willcox, the recipient of the 2017 award, will present his H Barry Collin Research Medal lecture at the Southern Regional Congress in Melbourne in May 2018.

Professor Willcox is a medical microbiologist, Professor and Director of Research in the School of Optometry and Vision Science at the University of New South Wales, and Associate Dean for Research Training. He co-ordinates and teaches the course Introduction to Ocular Disease, and co-ordinates the research projects for final-year optometry students.

Nominations for the award must be submitted by 28 February 2018 to the Chief Executive Officer, Optometry Australia, by mail to PO Box 1037 South Melbourne VIC 3205, or as an attachment to an email to

H Barry Collin Research Medal INFORMATION


Barry Collin 


Professor H Barry Collin, AM BSc MAppSc PhD (Melb) DSc (NSW) DUniv (QUT) LOSc FRCPath (Lond) FNZCO FAAO FVCO, has held the position of Editor of Clinical and Experimental Optometry since 1993.

Professor Collin was an academic teacher and researcher at the University of Melbourne for 20 years from 1962. In 1982, he was appointed Head of the School of Optometry at the University of New South Wales and he retired from that position in 1994. He is currently Professor Emeritus at the University of New South Wales and a Professorial Fellow at the University of Melbourne.

Professor Collin has had a distinguished career. He has published more than 130 papers in peer-reviewed journals around the world. He has held appointments at the University of Oxford, Harvard Medical School, the University of California at San Diego and Scripps Institution of Oceanography. He was awarded the Shorney Prize for research in ophthalmology from the University of Adelaide; the International Optometric and Optical League Medal for research and contributions to optometry; the H Barry Collin Research Medal of Optometry Australia, named in his honour; the Vice-Chancellor’s Medal for Teaching Excellence at the University of New South Wales; and the Order of Australia for services to optometric education in the South Pacific area.

Medal recipients

H Barry Collin AM, 1977
Brien A Holden OAM, 1988
Gerald Westheimer, 2009
John D Pettigrew, 2010
Anthony J Adams, 2011
Donald E Mitchell, 2012
Robert Hess, 2013
David Atchison, 2014
Nathan Efron AC, 2015
Shaun Collin, 2016
Mark Willcox, 2017

Filed in category: Uncategorised

Acknowledgement of Country

In the spirit of reconciliation Optometry Australia acknowledges the Traditional Custodians of country throughout Australia and their connections to land, sea and community. We pay our respects to their Elders past and present and extend that respect to all Aboriginal and Torres Strait Islander peoples today.