You are here: Home > News > Latest updates & news > ECOs & students > 2022 student leaders announced
Read time:


Twenty-two optometry students from around Australia have been selected to participate in Optometry Australia’s 2022 Student Leadership Program.

The program, which will run on a virtual platform over a 6-week period, will commence on Monday 7 February and conclude on Saturday 20 March 2022.

This is the fourth consecutive year Optometry Australia has run the Student Leadership Program.

All 22 students who have been offered a place in the program have expressed a strong passion to become leaders who contribute to shaping the future of optometry.

One student indicated their interest in ‘supporting regional communities through [their] experiences with the leadership program’, while another expressed their excitement and passion for learning about ‘leadership, professional development and how to support everyone around them.’

Optometry Australia’s Policy and Advocacy Manager Sarah Davies said she looks forward to welcoming the successful applicants next week.

‘We are excited to work with all 22 students to develop their leadership skills and ensure they are supported to meet the challenges and demands of a changing profession.

‘Optometry Australia congratulates and thanks all of the students who applied to participate in the program, and look forward to welcoming the successful participants this month.’

The 2022 participants are:

  • Angela Park, University of NSW
  • Ayd’n Luke, University of Melbourne
  • Bianca Romeo, Queensland University of Technology
  • David Nguyen, Deakin University
  • Dennis Kamenev, University of Melbourne
  • Ellie Schneider, University of WA
  • Harrison Chats, University of Melbourne
  • Jack Welchman, Flinders University
  • Jenkin Yau, University of Melbourne
  • Jennie Bui, University of Melbourne
  • Jessica Nijjar, University of Canberra
  • Jan Wang, University of Melbourne
  • Karuna Darvesh, University of NSW
  • Kim Nguyen, University of Melbourne
  • Louise Jiang, University of Melbourne
  • Lucy Nguyen, University of NSW
  • Maddison Poon, University of Melbourne
  • Nhi Nguyen, University of NSW
  • Nuala Boog, University of WA
  • Rahul Sundarjee, University of Canberra
  • Serena Yung, University of Melbourne
  • Song Jin Loh, Queensland University of Technology
Filed in category: ECOs & students, General news, National & State initiatives
Tagged as: ,

Acknowledgement of Country

In the spirit of reconciliation Optometry Australia acknowledges the Traditional Custodians of country throughout Australia and their connections to land, sea and community. We pay our respects to their Elders past and present and extend that respect to all Aboriginal and Torres Strait Islander peoples today.