You are here: Home > Institute of Excellence (CPD) > CPD publications > Clinical & Experimental Optometry > Clinical & Experimental Optometry awards

The H Barry Collin Research Medal


The H Barry Collin Research Medal, awarded annually by Optometry Australia, was established in 1977 and named for H Barry Collin AM to acknowledge his pioneering work in optometric research.

All past original research papers are freely available to read in the H Barry Collin Research Medal Collection on the journal’s website.

Award criteria

The award recognises outstanding contributions to the advancement of knowledge in optics, vision science or clinical optometry by a person who is an Australian citizen or a graduate of an Australian optometry school, or who has done a significant part of his or her research in an Australian institution.

Recipients of the medal receive a monetary prize and are required to write an original research paper for publication in Clinical and Experimental Optometry. The recipient may also be invited to provide a lecture on their research at a peak conference or event.

All nominations must state the name, position, qualifications and contact details of both the nominator/s and nominee. A full curriculum vitae and overview statement of no more than 1,500 words must be submitted. The overview should outline the nature, scope and importance of the research of the nominee.

All nominations and nominee names are kept confidential and are valid for three years from submission.

Past recipients

H Barry Collin AM – 1977
Brien A Holden OAM – 1988
Gerald Westheimer AM – 2009
John D Pettigrew – 2010
Anthony J Adams – 2011
Donald E Mitchell – 2012
Robert Hess – 2013
David Atchison – 2014
Nathan Efron AC – 2015
Shaun Collin – 2016
Mark Willcox – 2017
Fiona Stapleton – 2018
Erica Fletcher – 2019
Konrad Pesudovs – 2020
Joanne Wood – 2021
Tailoi Chan-Ling – 2022


The J Lloyd Hewett Outstanding Paper Award

The J Lloyd Hewett Outstanding Paper Award was established by Clinical and Experimental Optometry in 1980 as a tribute to optometrist J Lloyd Hewett, who was Editor-in-Chief of CXO from 1962 to 1979, and a leading practitioner and clinical teacher, especially in the field of contact lenses.

The award is decided by the CXO Editorial Board and does not invite nominations.

Read the winning J Lloyd Hewett Award Papers available on the CXO website.

You might be interested in

New guide for locum optometrists

If you are a locum optometrist, or engage locums, Industry Legal Group (ILG) has released a new guide for Optometry Australia members, containing legal advice when entering into a contract for service.
New guide for locum optometrists View

Acknowledgement of Country

In the spirit of reconciliation Optometry Australia acknowledges the Traditional Custodians of country throughout Australia and their connections to land, sea and community. We pay our respects to their Elders past and present and extend that respect to all Aboriginal and Torres Strait Islander peoples today.